We use necessary cookies to make our site work. We would also like to set certain functional and advertising cookies to help us improve our site. We won't set optional cookies unless you enable them. Using this tool will set a cookie on your device to remember your preferences.

You can click "Accept all cookies" below to accept use of all cookies on this website, or select "Manage cookies preferences" to choose which cookies we can use. For more information about the cookies we use, see our Cookie Notice 


What is the SQE?

The Solicitors Qualifying Examination (SQE) is a single, rigorous assessment for all aspiring solicitors.

The SQE is the examination part of the route to qualification to become a solicitor in England and Wales.

Unlike the LPC, the SQE is not a course or study programme, but two separate sets of examinations, or assessments.

  • The SQE1 Assessment tests functioning legal knowledge.
  • The SQE2 Assessment tests oral (advocacy and client interviewing) and written legal skills.
  • You need to pass both SQE1 and SQE2 to become a solicitor.


What is the SQE?

If you take the SQE route, there are four things you will need to qualify as a solicitor:

  • have a degree in any subject or a qualification or experience that is equivalent to a degree
  • pass both SQE1 and SQE2
  • two years' full-time (or equivalent) qualifying work experience (QWE)
  • pass character and suitability requirements

Qualifying work experience is a recognised period of practical training that can be taken in up to four organisations. You can find out more about it on our QWE Page.